This project is read-only.

PMUSimulator Frame Rate

Feb 15, 2012 at 3:37 PM

When I receive data from PMUSimulator, I tend to get frame rates between 58-59 frames per second when the nominal value is 60 frames per second. The frame varies from computer to computer. Faster computers come closer to 60 frames per second but they lag still yet. I've learned that you can hard code in a correction in the "usleep" function in udp_send_data. However, this assumes that all computers are the same which is not true. It also assumes that the processing time of the data frame is always constant also.

The following code will take a running average of the time it takes to send a data frame and adds corrections slowly to come closer to the actual frame rate. After about five seconds, the frame rate is fairly constantly at 60 frames per second on my computer. I've tried this for the tcp_send_data also but with less accurate results. I am not a coder, and most of the changes were done by a Comp Sci Eng.

This code could be improved by accounting for the time after "if(samples<UINT_MAX)" because the two getttimeofday functions do not cover the entire loop. Also, if the "correct" variable could be stored for a specific PMUSimulator, then the frame rate could start out at the last known correction value, which would decrease the time needed to converge to 60 frames per second.

This is important because when sending this data to a PDC, the PDC expects exactly 60fps, if one frame is missing, the PDC will wait anywhere from 50 to 200 milliseconds on that specific data frame and then discard that data frame when it doesn't show up.   

/* ----------------------------------------------------------------------------    */
/* FUNCTION  void* udp_send_data():                        */
/* Function to generate and send the data frame periodically to destination    */
/* address or to PDC or client.                            */